War of the Wardrobe

Inspired by a blog post I found on Pinterest, The 40 Hanger Closet I decided to do a bit of mid-winter wardrobe rehab…

…As recent graduate (Yay! I have a fancy piece of paper now!), I haven’t been in a mindset or a financial position in the last couple of years to update my wardrobe as regularly as I should. I knew I could do this on my own, but that’s no fun…so I enrolled the help of a good friend. This friend I knew would be honest and frank with me if I was feeling the need to hoard and hold onto items I would not wear. It also helps that she has been in the professional working world for a few years so is a bit more the wiser than I in the realm of how to look like a professional.

If you’re like me and a bit of a newbie to what to wear at work, go to http://hello-gorgeous-blog.blogspot.co.nz

As women, young or more mature in years, we should take joy in our personal presentation. Not only does one’s look contribute hugely to the first impressions we make in the workplace, but it does great things to our personal confidence. Our personal appearance, after all should be a true reflection of the beautiful personality within. The Hello Gorgeous blog is kiwi! Be inspired by the smart, the cute, the oh-so-affordable outfits that she puts together! It can become an almost effortless and even fun to look one’s best every day for work, for everyday life even! “Dress shabbily and they remember the dress; dress impeccably and they remember the woman” – Coco Chanel

 

Back to my wardrobe …a couple of hours, cups of coffee and many laughs later, I waltzed two large rubbish bags full of unwanted clothing out of my room. My wardrobe is looking amazing! I discovered a simple, yet clever way to hang my scarves…using one of the now empty coat hangers! The example to your right was my original inspiration…but I just looped the scarves over the coat hanger minus the curtain hooks. Although this idea (pictured) would give one more room for more scarves! Hmm…

The unwanted items went either in the rubbish if they were unwearable, or off to the local op-shops down the road from my house…Now its your turn! If you have any hints and tips for wardrobe organisation feel free to share down below!

Until next time,

❤ Brig

 

P.S.

IMG_1665

A few days later I went to my friend’s place to return the favour. Not only did we have fun having a laugh and a chit-chat, I even scored a new hat! What do y’all think?

 

This entry was published on 11/06/2013 at 11:09 PM. It’s filed under Fashion, Hints & Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
